Why do you write?

Earlier this year, I asked some writers this Big Question. They have replied generously, with reasons that are essential to one’s sense of being a writer:  ‘I write to make sense of my experiences of the world’  (poet Chris Kinsey) ‘(I) write to process experiences’ (poet Juli Jana) ‘I write because I can’t help it!’ (poet Mavis Gulliver, recently published in Envoi Magazine.

Nature, the environment, and having something to say about the world also feature strongly among the reasons for putting pen to paper.  Poet Juliet Wilson, author of ‘Unthinkable Skies’, says, ‘I write particularly about nature and the environment and I hope that this helps at least some people to become more aware of nature and/or more active on environmental issues.’

A sense of fulfilment  also plays a part. Poet Judith Blakemore-Lawton says, ‘I love the physical sense of potential achievment in rushing to jot down words.’  The physical act of writing -whether on paper or electronically – and walking with words in one’s mind, can be integral to the writing process.

The quote at the top of my own blog is by Anais Nin, and says:

Writers do not live one life, they live two. There is the living and then there is the writing. There is the second tasting, the delayed reaction.

I was at primary school in the 1970s. British children at this time were required to write their ‘News’ about their weekend experiences, first thing on a Monday morning.  Although I couldn’t articulate why, this was my favourite part of the week. I lived selected events over again through writing. Writing about the pain and tears of falling over on my bike was cathartic: a favourite bar of chocolate, only allowed at weekends, was savoured again in words. Perhaps trying to capture that sense of satisfaction has kept me writing still.

Tomorrow’s question- perhaps you’ve guessed it already – When do you write?

Leave a Reply

